Day 16: Someone Wearing Matching Clothes

This one was hard. All my friends and I are suburban housewives, and we pretty much dress like it. A couple have fantasy colors in their hair, and a couple wear the occasional stompy combat boot, but that’s about it.

Now I’m super sad because I just realized I’m by far the edgiest person in my circle of friends and I’m really not that edgy. For a long time I toned it way down to fit in and “be responsible,” but it just wasn’t me. Now that I’m ramping the black up to the level that makes me happy I stick out like a sore thumb (with black nailpolish on it). I don’t get shit from anyone, but no one’s jumping to dress like me either. Still, I’ve got something for you. I had to reach back a ways for these– they’re both about 4 years old–but they sort of fit the challenge.

The one on the left was my friend’s idea–the second lady from the left, with the necklace and the sunglasses on her head, wanted us all to wear “little black dresses” and come to her house for a party. It’s probably obvious, but I’m the one with the curly hair and the leopard print boobs.

The one on the right was my son’s idea. My kids are not goth in the slightest (I should write about that one of these days) but my boy is very into “scary” fantasy stuff like the Lord of the Rings. He decided that those were his “hobbit shorts” and insisted that I wear my “hobbit shorts” too so we could match. He looks like an adorable punk toddler here. I love it.

One thought on “Day 16: Someone Wearing Matching Clothes

Leave a Reply

